Thüringer Bach Collegium

Thuringia is often described as the land of Bach, as the Baroque composer Johann Sebastian Bach (*1685 in Eisenach - †1750 in Leipzig) spent the first 30 years of his life in Eisenach, Arnstadt, Weimar and other Thuringian towns. He came from a musical dynasty that had already been shaping the Thuringia music life for 150 years at the time of his birth.

Worldwide, he is the most famous member of the Bach family of musicians. Thuringia practically »breathes« Bach and it has a long tradition of preserving Bach’s musical heritage. Although his works initially fell into oblivion after his death, classical music since the 19th century has meanwhile become inconceivable without them. Innumerable concerts and festivals honouring Bach and his music bear witness to this. In many areas of music, Bach paved the way and contributed to the enhancement of musical forms and language. Bach created groundbreaking works in many areas of music and contributed to the further development of musical forms and musical language. Hence, the »Bach« in the new ensemble’s name not only symbolises the programme itself but also its claim of offering a new, fresh and captivating sound.

A new star has risen in the sky of ancient music in Weimar and continues to shine in Arnstadt. The Thuringian Bach Collegium moved its headquarters to Arnstadt in March 2020. For the first time in 300 years, the Bach-town will again get its own musical ambassador with the orchestra.

The Thuringian Bach Collegium plays works by Johann Sebastian Bach, his ancestors (Altbachisches Archiv), his sons and his contemporaries in historically informed performance practice on historic instruments. The ensemble is led by Gernot Süßmuth, Johann Sebastian Bach's successor as concertmaster of the Staatskapelle Weimar. The managing director and double bass player is Christian Bergmann, who has been playing in the Staatskapelle Weimar for 18 years. True experts and connoisseurs with experience and joy of playing

The founders and other members of the Thüringer Bach Collegium have many years of experience as soloists and first-chair players in large symphony and opera orchestras. And, if required, the ensemble is complemented by freelance musicians, experts in the field of ancient music and, in particular, with special instruments not played in a conventional orchestra, such as the viola da gamba, recorder, natural horn and baroque trumpet.

They all contribute their expertise from working with major conductors and soloists. Their wealth of experience from music culture to contemporary music, combined with the latest scientific insights into historical performances, complements and enlivens the current concert programme in the field of ancient and Baroque music. Regular performances with internationally renowned conductors and soloists enhances the orchestra’s musical spectrum.

The Thüringer Bach Collegium plays on valuable historical string instruments, including violins from Giovanni Grancino or replicas of historical wind instruments. The string instruments are all around 300 years old. This means they were already being played and listened to during the lifetime of Johann Sebastian Bach.

Members
    Dagmar Spengler-Süßmuth (cello)
    Gernot Süßmuth (violin)
    Christian Bergmann (double bass)
    Alexandre Castro-Balbi (cello)
    Jörg Reddin (organ/harpsichord)
    Jonathan Kliegel (viola)
    David Castro-Balbi (violin)
    Irina Zwiener (violin)
    Raphael Hevicke (violin)
    Jürgen Karwath (violin/viola)
    Frank Forst (bassoon)

Print

Thüringer Bach Collegium

Thüringen wird oft als Bachland beschrieben, da der Barock-Komponist Johann Sebastian Bach (*1685 in Eisenach - †1750 in Leipzig) die ersten 30 Jahre seines Lebens in Eisenach, Arnstadt, Weimar und anderen Thüringer Städten verbrachte. Er entstammte einer Dynastie von Musikern, die zum Zeitpunkt seiner Geburt bereits seit 150 Jahren das Thüringer Musikleben prägte.

Er ist weltweit das bekannteste Mitglied der Musikerfamilie Bach. Thüringen »atmet« sozusagen Bach. Die Pflege des Bach’schen musikalischen Erbes hat in Thüringen eine lange Tradition. Obwohl seine Werke nach Bachs Tod in Vergessenheit gerieten, sind sie seit dem 19. Jahrhundert nicht mehr aus der klassischen Musik wegzudenken. Davon zeugen viele Konzerte und Festivals, die ihm und seiner Musik huldigen. Bach hat auf vielen Gebieten der Musik Bahnbrechendes geschaffen und zur Weiterentwicklung musikalischer Formen und der Musiksprache beigetragen. Einige seiner Werke überschreiten den tradierten Formenkanon weit. Daher ist der Bach im Namen des neuen Ensembles nicht nur Hinweis auf die programmatische Gestaltung sondern auch Anspruch auf einen neuartigen, frischen und mitreißenden Klang.

Ein neuer Stern am Himmel für Alte Musik ging in Weimar auf und leuchtet in Arnstadt weiter. Das Thüringer Bach Collegium verlegte seinen Vereinssitz im März 2020 nach Arnstadt. Die Bachstadt erhält mit dem Orchester erstmalig nach 300 Jahren wieder einen eigenen musikalischen Botschafter.

Das Thüringer Bach Collegium spielt Werke von Johann Sebastian Bach, seinen Vorfahren (Altbachisches Archiv), seinen Söhnen und seinen Zeitgenossen in historisch informierter Aufführungspraxis auf alten Instrumenten. Geleitet wird das Ensemble von Gernot Süßmuth, dem Nachfolger Johann Sebastian Bachs als Konzertmeister der Staatskapelle Weimar. Geschäftsführer und Kontrabassist ist Christian Bergmann, der seit 18 Jahren in der Staatskapelle Weimar spielt.
Wahre Könner und Kenner mit Erfahrung und Spielfreude

Die Gründer und weitere Mitglieder des Thüringer Bach Collegiums haben langjährige Erfahrungen als Solisten und Stimmführer in großen Sinfonie- und Opernorchestern. Je nach Bedarf ergänzen freischaffende Musiker, die Experten auf dem Gebiet der alten Musik sind, das Ensemble. Dazu gehören insbesondere Spieler von Spezialinstrumenten, die nicht im klassischen Orchester gespielt werden, wie Gambe, Blockflöte, Naturhorn und Barocktrompete.

Sie alle lassen ihr Knowhow aus der Arbeit mit großen Dirigenten und Solisten einfließen. Ihr großer Erfahrungsschatz aus der Musikkultur bis hin zur zeitgenössischen Musik, kombiniert mit neuesten wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen der historischen Aufführungspraxis, soll das aktuelle Konzert-Angebot im Bereich Alte Musik und Barockmusik ergänzen und auffrischen. Die regelmäßige Zusammenarbeit mit international renommierten Dirigenten und Solisten erweitert das Spektrum des Orchesters.

Das Thüringer Bach Collegium spielt auf wertvollen historischen Streichinstrumenten, z. B. Violinen von Giovanni Grancino, beziehungsweise Kopien historischer Blasinstrumente. Die Streichinstrumente sind alle um die 300 Jahre alt. Sie sind also schon zu Lebzeiten Johann Sebastian Bachs gespielt und gehört worden.


Mitglieder
    Dagmar Spengler-Süßmuth (Violoncello)
    Gernot Süßmuth (Violine)
    Christian Bergmann (Kontrabass)
    Alexandre Castro-Balbi (Violoncello)
    Jörg Reddin (Orgel/Cembalo)
    Jonathan Kliegel (Viola)
    David Castro-Balbi (Violine)
    Irina Zwiener (Violine)
    Raphael Hevicke (Violine)
    Jürgen Karwath (Violine/Viola)
    Frank Forst (Fagott)
    Rupprecht Johannes Drees (Trompete)

Drucken